Restoration In Process: Elkins Mill Siding Project Completed!
Rehabilitation of the Mill:
See W.H. Rice's short essay:
Background : The Elkins Mill, the Valley, and the Bridge
Re-linking the Past: New Railroad Bridge
C-HOPE’s Vision for the Elkins Mill...
The Elkins Mill building is – other than the Depot itself – the only remaining original building on the railyard. Built 100 years ago in 1902 and operated by the Elkins Milling Company, then later as Darden’s Mill, it supplied the community and surrounding area with flour, cereals, and animal feed. It is an important link in telling the story of the early history of Elkins, its families, and its economy.
This building is a unique piece of Elkins’ history -- an architectural gem in the rough. The original post and beam structure of the building – built with huge native timbers – is still intact and strong, with the vast open spaces, the hardwood floors, and large wooden beams showing its fascinating structure.
Many heritage tourists are looking beyond lovely old houses and famous people, and are interested in industrial architecture and workers’ stories as well. The restored Elkins Mill building will be attractive and unique, and will tell industrial and forest heritage stories of Randolph County that is not available elsewhere. A Forest Heritage Center in the Elkins Mill can include:
- Forest heritage museum and Discovery Center with activities and hands-on exhibits
- Artisans workshops and class space
- Appalachian Forest Heritage Area Interpretive Center and Gift shop
This attraction will encourage tourists and train riders to stay longer and spend more Downtown, and provide cultural and educational opportunities focused on local heritage to benefit our whole community.
See the page on: Proposal for Adaptive Reuse of Elkins Milling Company Building